Five disqualified in race for Busia Speaker’s positio


Five   people have been disqualified in the race for the Busia County Assembly  Speaker’s  position after failing to beat the  Monday 9am deadline of returning the nomination forms to  the Assembly  Clerk  Allan Mabuka or did not meet the set requirements.

The four  who failed to return their nomination forms are Susan Mang’eni who contested for Women Representative Position in the  August 8 elections,     Francis Chachi, Henry Ndagwa and  Tony Omeri. Mabuka said they have been technically been locked out of the race  due to time factor.

Simon Wandera Bwire  returned his nomination  forms but was knocked out. Mabuka said the candidate returned blank forms probably after failing to get two MCAs as proposer and seconder.

Bwire was among the four  who returned their nomination papers in time. Others included includes  the First Assembly Speaker Bernard  Mubinja Wamalwa, Busia County Education Board   Chairman  Prof Stephen Onyango Odebero and    Gabriel  Fwaya Ojwang.

Mabuka said  copies of curriculum vitae of the qualified members have been made available  to the Members of the County Assembly through hand delivery.

 Angurai North Ward MCA  Lawrence Okaale  Murunga is set to take over as the Deputy Speaker after remaining unopposed in his quest to take over from  his predecessor Moses Ote.

” Having worked at  Baringo and Bomet   County Assemblies as Sergeant at Arms   I have learnt on the procedures of  the Assembly  which I will use it to improve  legislation and oversight role  of the Members of the County Assembly.

I will also use my experience as former Inspector of Police  and training in senior  management  which balanced  my emotions to  help the speaker deliver on the Assembly mandate,” he said.

Photos:  Bernard Wamalwa, Susan Mangeni and Lawrence Okaale Murunga

Leave A Reply

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/busiaco2/public_html/wp-content/themes/flipmag/footer.php on line 57